New Year’s 2010 …

Welcome to 2010! I was more than ready to put 2009 behind me and move into a new year.

I’ve seen some commentary about why people bother to make resolutions and that the New Year is no big deal. I disagree, the New Year offers an important psychological reset point. It’s a clean break with the previous year. Of course, you’re free to make changes in your life at any time you wish but there’s definitely something reflective and inspiring about it being a new year.

My resolutions this year are pretty simple …

  • Not to be in the same place I am now next year.
    • This was a rough year professionally and emotionally – career setbacks, humbling situations, and the loss of family.
  • Produce more, consume less (this is may seem in direct contrast to the next resolution)
  • Establish a habit of reading.
  • Be mindful.
    • People think I’m kidding when I say this is my resolution – I’m not. This is inspired by Buddhist concept of mindfulness, and by our friends the Jedi. The point is to be focused and in the moment, rather than infinitely distracted.

Some goals – these aren’t as much resolutions as things I want to make sure and accomplish this year:

  • Conquer the stack of books that I’ve built up over the past few years.
  • Weight down to 155 – this would push me back to 2002 before Breakfast Burritos took their toll.

More to come, but this is where my head is at Jan. 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

